Copland's Appalachian Spring & Dvorak's New World


Copland's Appalachian Spring & Dvorak's New World - Poster



UAB’s Alys Stephens Center — Jemison Concert Hall Map & Directions


Program to Include

Carlos Izcaray: Under the Shadows: An Immigrant’s Journey, World Premiere

Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring Suite

Antonin Dvorak: Symphony No. 9, From the New World

Event Details

Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring takes audiences on a joyous journey through rolling hills and the boundless American countryside. The Orchestra will also perform Dvorak’s acclaimed New World Symphony, a composition based on the vast expanses of the American West, alongside Carlos Izcaray’s new companion piece to the beloved symphony.

COVID-19 protocols will be in place for this event. Audience members must wear masks the entire time they are inside the venue. Seating capacity will be limited and the audience will distanced throughout the hall. This means that many subscribers will not be able to sit in their usual seats. We do apologize for this inconvenience, but please know that it is temporary. Your normal seat location is being preserved for when we are able to return to full capacity. Click here to read more about our COVID-19 protocols.

Due to social distancing, we will not hold concert comments for these performances. The conductor will incorporate brief comments into the concert.

Click here for recommended parking.