Beethoven's Seventh Symphony & Copland's Clarinet Concerto


Beethoven's Seventh Symphony & Copland's Clarinet Concerto - Poster



UAB’s Alys Stephens Center — Jemison Concert Hall Map & Directions


Program to Include

Hector Berlioz: Roman Carnival Overture

Aaron Copland: Clarinet Concerto

Carlos Simon: Fate Now Conquers

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 in A Major

Event Details

Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony, often referred to as the “apotheosis of dance,” is a thrilling ride filled with exciting rhythmic motifs and Irish folk-inspired melodies. Its rustic charm and rhythmic vitality make it a favorite for orchestras and audiences alike. Kathleen Costello, Principal Clarinet of the ASO, will be the featured soloist in Aaron Copland’s Clarinet Concerto. Commissioned by jazz musician Benny Goodman, the work opens with a poignant and beautiful melody which then quickly transitions into virtuosic jazz-inspired music that is sure to dazzle listeners.