Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony


Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony - Poster



UAB’s Alys Stephens Center — Jemison Concert Hall Map & Directions


Program to Include

Carlos Izcaray: Geometric Unity

Julio Racine: Concertino for Clarinet and Orchestra

Carlos Izcaray: Clarinet Concerto (World Premiere)

Sergei Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5

Event Details

Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony explores the ins and outs of a country ravaged by war. Set in four movements, Prokofiev’s heroic work culminates with a poignant question, what comes after victory? Principal clarinetist of the New York Philharmonic, Anthony McGill, will join us once again to showcase his artistry in two works, Racine’s Concertino and the world premiere of a new Clarinet Concerto composed by ASO Music Director Carlos Izcaray.

Gain insight into the music by joining us for Concert Comments each night at 6:15pm in the Reynolds-Kirschbaum Recital Hall, presented by Home Instead.

Interested in a subscription? Click here.

Click here for recommended parking.