Sound Investment

Sound Investment is a unique opportunity to commission a new piece of music and see how new compositions come together. Members enjoy a front-row seat into the creative process that leads to new music, from the inspiration to the final product.

Announcing the 2019-2020 Sound Investment Composer...

The ASO is thrilled to announce that our very own Music Director, Carlos Izcaray, is the Sound Investment composer this year. His piece will be featured on Symphonie Fantastique, January 17 and 18, as a part of the ASO’s Masterworks and Coffee Concert series.

Izcaray is an alumnus of the Interlochen Arts Academy, New World School of the Arts, and Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University, and won top prizes at the 2007 Aspen Music Festival and later at the 2008 Toscanini International Conducting Competition. He is a dual citizen of Spain and Venezuela, and divides his time between in Birmingham (AL) and Los Angeles.

Increasingly active as a composer, Izcaray’s orchestral work Cota Mil was premiered by the Orquesta Sinfónica Municipal de Caracas. April 2018 saw the premiere of his Strike Fugaz by the American Youth Symphony, commissioned in association with the Human Rights Watch to commemorate, and celebrate, the campaign for worldwide social justice, equality and freedom - a cause for which Izcaray is a proud and committed advocate. 

For his residency, Carlos will compose a cello concerto that the ASO will premiere with soloist Santiago Cañón Valencia. Carlos has called this commission a “big statement” piece, and, since cello is his primary instrument, he is excited to compose for a cello soloist. After composing several relatively short concert openers and interludes, this will be his first long form, multi-movement orchestral work.

Sound Investment Membership

Sound investment members enjoy these unique perks:

  • Co-commission new work, which will premiere on January 17.
  • Intimately get to know the Sound Investment composer at three exclusive events
  • Go "behind-the-scenes" to learn the creative process
  • Receive two concert tickets to the world premiere
  • Receive a copy of the score, signed by the composer, with your name listed as a commissioner

Membership is $500 per person, or $1,000 per couple.

Join Now!