The Alabama Symphony Youth Orchestra


The official youth orchestra of the Alabama Symphony Orchestra is an ensemble dedicated to nurturing talent, building community, and empowering young lives in the state of Alabama. The group consists of 60 of the brightest young musicians from throughout the state of Alabama.

The Alabama Symphony Youth Orchestra


Kevin Fitzgerald, ASYO Music Director & ASO Assistant Conductor

The ASYO is an ensemble committed to performing music at the highest level. It consists of the very best young musicians from around the state of Alabama who come together each Sunday to share their talents, aspirations, and successes. In order to achieve our level of performance, each member commits to always bringing their best to rehearsals and performances, and we believe that each one of our members is capable of meeting these high expectations. 

ASYO Auditions

The ASYO is always looking for talented young musicians. Auditions happen in the summer and fall, with occasional rolling auditions during the season.

Audition DetailsContact

ASYO Member Info

ASYO rehearsals are held at Mountain Brook Junior High School 205 Overbrook Road / Birmingham, AL 35213

Frequently Asked Questions

Pay Tuition Online

Still have questions?

ASYO Manager: 

Erin Dawkins

205.314.6955 or via email.


  • Anna Ayers

  • Eesha Banerjee

  • Emma Bell

  • Shannon Boutwell

  • Joshua Handra

  • Karalyn Harper

  • Cher (Yunfei) Hu

  • Haeun Kim

  • Kyuna Kim

  • Benjamin Lane

  • Phaedra Manuel

  • Soleil Ruggiero

  • Morgan Sanders

  • Ginne Saunders

  • Terry Xie

  • Grace Jessica Xu

  • Walter Zhang


  • Emily Deason

  • Sophia Lee

  • Kathleen Prine

  • Dennis Yan


  • Payton Ahlmeyer

  • Clare Bevensee

  • Shelby Camp

  • Alexandria McClinton

  • Luke Turner


  • Georgia Dussich

  • Zoe Johnson


  • Miranda Fast

  • Emily Hagood

  • Kaylee Orr

  • Lily Rimmer


  • Tanner Bowman

  • Emily Fu

  • Rebecca Keith

  • Lauren Nelson


  • K'Mya Burrell

  • MiKaelah Freeman

  • Mya Gibson

  • Rohith Vuribindi


  • Erin Acree

  • Clara Cagle

  • James Smelley

  • Harry Tidwell


  • Matthew Curtis

  • Alex Franck

  • Alana Knowles

  • Tyler Winningham


  • Audra Campbell

  • Ryan Sawyer

  • Caleb Walker


  • Brandan Belser

  • Matthew Willingham

Bass Trombone

  • Nicholas Dobyns


  • Caroline Habig


  • Elliott Stanley